Meeting Pulitzer Prize winners

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker recently visited the Point Park University campus to talk about their new book, “Busted: A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love.” The book chronicles the journalists’ “Tainted Justice” series that appeared in the Philadelphia Daily News, which was centered around police corruption in the city.

Getting to hear the women talk about the risks they took to get the story and get the truth out to the public was really inspiring to me as someone who is just starting their career in the field. After the event I was able to sit down with Laker and Ruderman and interview them for an article for The Point Park News Service. I was also able to get some feedback from them on the field of print journalism and advice for having a successful career. Both of them stressed the importance of finding a way to make a story fresh or finding an angel that hasn’t been covered yet. This is advice I will carry with me as I continue to advance my career.

I may never go to the extremes that they did for a story, but it still inspires me to do the best that I can do in my own career as a journalist.

To read my article about the event go here.

Leave a Reply

